Photos Courtesy of the Intermountain Circuit


Rockin' Horse Photography

Circuit Information

The Intermountain Reined Cow Horse Circuit was established in the early 1990’s in the Intermountain area of the Northwest. It is a unique and very successful alliance of reined cow horse associations - all NRCHA affiliates.

The vision of the Circuit's founders continues today: to promote awareness and involvement in breeding, training and showing reined cow horses; to provide an area-wide recognition and awards program; and to support regional cow horse shows.

These goals continue to form the framework for the Intermountain Circuit.

Responsive to area needs, based on input from show reps, riders and trainers, the Circuit Class List features NRCHA classes, plus a few additions. A commitment to added money by each approved event has also made the Circuit a very lucrative series for owners and riders.

The Annual Meeting of the Intermountain Circuit is held in January or February of each year, prior to the Awards Banquet. Representatives from approved shows, and interested riders, owners and trainers are welcome to attend to discuss classes, show approvals, dates, clinics, awards, regional and national news, conduct elections, and carry out other business. All horsemen are welcome and encouraged to attend.

All horses entered in Circuit-approved classes at Circuit-approved shows are automatically tracked for Circuit points. There are no Circuit membership dues!

Shows interested in Circuit approval should review the material here, and call with any additional questions.

Approved events are horse shows, which may also offer derbies and/or futurities. Please see the Show Approvals section for guidelines on classes, added money and Circuit fees.

To be eligible for Circuit awards the horse must be shown in the class a minimum number of times, with points counting from all approved shows.

Intermountain Circuit Annual Meeting News

2017 was a very successful year for the Intermountain Circuit. The entire circuit, all 8 shows, paid out a total of $430, 787.41 The Futurities paid out ~ $132,000, the Derbies paid out over $167,000 and the Horse Show classes paid out ~ $131,000

Dan Roeser provided an update on the NRCHA. The big news is the addition of an Intermediate Bridle & Intermediate Hackamore division. These classes will run concurrent with the Open of each. For this year the NRCHA will not keep points or standings and there will be no Regional awards or World qualifying. The other big change is that the NP Limited Spectaculars will now be open to any age appropriate equipment rather than just a Bridle.

NRCHA - Please check the 2018 NRCHA Rulebook for all new rules. The rulebook is available HERE.

Based on the new NRCHA classes the Circuit voted to add the new Intermediate Bridle and Intermediate Hackamore to the IMC for year-end awards. There are no specific added $$ requirements for these classes at this time.

The Circuit Board also voted to change the NP of the Year to a simple High Point NP that will now include the various boxing classes.

Your 2017 Intermountain Circuit officers return for 2018. President is John Palleria. Carolyn Meador was elected as the Circuit Treasurer! Sarah Skaar returns as the Points Secretary.

Check the calendar page and watch for an update on the schedule in case of additions.

SPECIAL THANKS to all the committees, volunteers, sponsors and others who make it possible to offer the best series of cow horse shows in the country!

Your 2018 IMCircuit Officers:

President - John Palleria
Vice President - Carolyn Meador
Secretary - Sarah Skaar

SHOW MINIMUMS - To qualify for 2018 Circuit awards, the horse must be shown in the class at a minimum of 50% of the shows that offer the class:

  • Futurity Minimum - 2 shows
  • Derby Minimum - 4 shows
  • Horse Shows - 4 shows

Open Bridle
Chics Smart Lena
Owned by Wayne Naplin
Shown by Jason Gay

Non Pro Bridle
Smooth As Tamulena
Owned & Shown by Wendy Lund

[ top ]

Please note - No unauthorized reproduction of photos from this website is permitted.

2017 Circuit Champions

Open Futurity
Kalahari Moonshine
Owned by Sharon Fraser
Shown by Brady Weaver

Open Derby
Sarahs Super Smooth
Owned & Shown by Brady Weaver

Intermediate Open Derby
Sarahs Super Smooth
Owned & Shown by Brady Weaver

Non Pro Derby
Stylish Cat N Jazz
Owned & Shown by Pam Meyers

Open Two Rein
Dual Like Hail
Owned by Redtail Ranch
Shown by Jeremy Meador

Non Pro Two Rein
Givmesom Moonshine
Owned & Shown by Scott Short

Limited Open Hackamore
SJR Cash Advance
Owned by Del & Susan Bell
Shown by Caleb Jantz

[ top ]